Summary of ADR Policy for Parents and Students for Online Publication (February 2019)

Assessment and Reports


Reports are published in the final week of each term to parents of students at Queen Mary’s High School, and can be accessed through GO4Schools ( Parents will receive an email notification to their registered email address when reports are available. Reports are supported by Parents’ Evenings during the course of the academic year, when parents have the opportunity to meet individual subject teacher to discuss their child’s progress.

Reports always show three key pieces of information:

  • an expected level of achievement for the end of the key stage: for students in Key Stage 3 this is the ‘Average End of Key Stage Target’, and for students studying GCSEs and A-Levels this is the ‘Goal’.
  • a current level or grade which reflects the student’s individual performance at the time of the report. It is based on recent performance, although previous assessments may be considered too.
  • a projected level or grade which the teacher expects the individual student to achieve at the end of the Key Stage, based on their current performance and approach to study.

The Projected value is compared to the expected level of achievement, and the student’s progress towards the end of the Key Stage is rated and colour coded.

Key Stages

Students in Years 7 to 9 are in Key Stage 3, but some subjects start their GCSE courses in Year 9. Year 9 students will receive two reports: one for their Key Stage 3 subjects and one for their GCSE subjects. Students in Years 10 and 11 are all studying for the GCSEs, and those in Years 12 and 13 are studying for their A-Levels.

Expected Levels of Achievement

In Key Stage 3 the expected level of achievement is pre-determined by the school, based on previous performance. At Key Stage 4 (GCSE) and 5 (A-Level), the students set the own goals during the first term of their course based on information provided to them which presents the average historical outcome for students of their ability. The first term of a course is usually in Years 10 and 12, but also includes subjects which start their GCSEs in Year 9.

The information about historical outcomes allows students to set their own realistic and challenging goals for their courses. Students will have the opportunity to speak to their individual subject teachers and their form tutors to help them set appropriate goals.

Levels and Grades

The levels and grades used for each Key Stage vary:

  • In Key Stage 3, QM Levels (ranging from 1c to 8a) are used. The number is the QM Level achieved, and the ‘c’, ‘b’ or ‘a’ indicate performance at the bottom, middle, or top of the level.
  • In Key Stage 4, GCSE grades (ranging from 1- to 9+) are used. The number is the GCSE grade (a grade 5 is described as a “good pass”), and the – and + indicate performance at the bottom or top of the grade.
  • In Key Stage 5, A-Level grades (ranging from E- to A*+) are used. The letter is the A-Level grade and the – and + indicate performance at the bottom or top of the grade.